Transgender

Kottke.org pointed out…

this article and photographs of the incredible skill and artfulness involved in one person’s transformation from a man to a woman.

I don’t know which methods were used in the creation of this particular neovagina, but surely this is art of the highest caliber. Sculpture in flesh tissue and nerve bundles.

I find gender identity disorder so fascinating because it has nothing to do with sexual orientation. I’ve also got profound sympathy for the prejudice, confusion, and self doubt they must encounter. Gender identity is probably the earliest label we affix to a child; the first question on everyone’s lips is “Is it a boy or a girl?” It’s gotta take a lot of courage to undergo a sex change surgery, hormone replacement therapy, and countless hours of counseling to reassign yourself. If you haven’t seen Transamerica, please do.

(quote via Clusterflock)

15 Responses to “Transgender”


  1. 1 loriannetucson May 22, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Kudos. Some people, like you, get it. You just do. Many don’t.

  2. 3 Felinchen August 25, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I was searching for some new websites as i stumbled over this blogpost.
    Yes, you really got the point. I am transgendered, living in Germany and i’m really really happy to find such statements. This proofs the change in the minds of the people. :)

  3. 4 Jenifer.nicole53 September 10, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Fully ‘out’ on March 28th 2008. Came out at work first. Walked into the office with all arms open and accepting. 30 years of worry, so many questions I had/have. Then in one day all of my anexieties, fears and worries seemed to all but disappear. Thanks to the wonderfull staff and corporate exectives there. A company of total openmindedness and one that promotes adversity to the fullest, yet maintains a total business atmosphere. WOW I should have hit this sooner………my Ambien is beginning to hit hard….so for now I will close…(Ihope at lease some of this made sence) My story is interesting to say the least. Anyone interested in it let me know and I’ll let the book flow. Well all nighty-night…..play nice! MOMMIE SAID! :-)
    Jennifer

  4. 5 Lesli September 11, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Jennifer,

    I, for one, would love to hear your story.
    Please, do tell. In its entirety. You have a fully awake audience here.
    :O) Lesli

  5. 6 mark last October 15, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    hi i am very confused im not sure what i am i could do with a little help im a lads lad but i have to try every day just to be that i play sport i am quit big because of that if i was what i think i am i dont think anybody would talk to me agen is there a web site or something that i could go to to help me please let me know

  6. 7 gag2 January 18, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Narth.com is the solution to all of your problems.

  7. 8 chrissy shawncassie February 16, 2009 at 8:56 am

    hi where is the best place for facial feminiation surgery
    chrissy

  8. 9 jake February 19, 2009 at 10:24 am

    hi i want to learn more about changing into a girl. please have people contact me

  9. 10 N February 19, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Actually, in my case, my gender variance is linked in some mysterious way to my sexual orientation. And really, if you think about it, by changing your gender, you change the sexual signals you send and receive… so it really can’t be completely decoupled from orientation.

    (spoken from experience along a fascinating journey)

  10. 11 ade March 22, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Hi…There all., i hope that to make me come true…My sex oriental

  11. 12 conectix March 22, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Hi, im male straight.I would like to say i know few transgendered persons which are most kind. I support every person way of life.

  12. 13 nisha April 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    hi all! i want to be a girl now am a (stupid)male but my thought and behaviour all are like a female.am a part time (hidden)crossdresser anyone pls help me how can i change myself like a girl.i like to be a feminine i love feminine. my e mail nirams_16b@rediffmail.com

  13. 14 scared June 7, 2009 at 7:13 am

    as much as i try not to judge anyone, this scares me. i do not want to get into a relationship with a woman(?) and find she(?) is/was(?) a man. ahhhhh…..

  14. 15 exploits April 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Post writing is also a fun, if you know then you can write or else it is complicated to write.


Leave a Reply

